My jobby
Employer emotional advantage
In brief
This is a flagship branding project by M Video company which is all about hobbies and interests. The project has allowed the workers to show their worth and helped the company to distinguish itself from the range of competitors thanks to emotionality.
Background
It was clear to us that candidates do not see any difference between the 4 biggest electronic appliances retail stores in Russia: all of them provide the same working conditions, salaries, and social benefits packages. After thorough interviews with M Video employees we singled out two crucial insights:

  • The workers do not communicate either at work or outside the store,
  • Being not only shop assistants or managers but also interesting people in general, they would like to show their worth. The work can hardly provide this opportunity.
Objectives
  • To make the employer emotionally attractive to candidates,
  • To reduce attrition rate,
  • To increase the number of job applications.
Decision
We launched "My jobby" project which allowed to draw the team together and gave the employees a chance for self-actualization.
"My jobby"is a social network or a club which brings together both current and potential employees. This platform is designed to discuss, learn, demonstrate achievements, share experience, and join groups according to the interests. Moreover the project offers real support in pursuing hobbies, i.e. provides grants, learning materials and organizes events.
Internal activity
At first we designed a platform for the project, i.e. a web-site with a clear subject list with the help of which users could easily find their hobbies, read their colleagues' stories, write their own posts, and take part in discussions. In order to attract new users we held a best hobby story contest between the company workers. We spread information via store managers: they mentioned the contest on regular briefings and hanged the following posters
The contest was held successfully, the winners were awarded and the works of the participants became the first content of the new platform. Every time a user (including contest participants) posted a story about their hobbies (cycling, hockey, flower arrangement), they automatically became thread moderators responsible for their topic, i.e. they were to answer questions, help newcomers, and etc. Thus the first activity started on the platform: some employees posted stories, photos and videos, others commented and joined discussions, or just read the stories.

The project was growing and developing. There soon appeared an archeologist's story, How to complete Rubik's Cube in a minute video, and even poems and lyrics. Off-line groups and activities were soon arranged: cyclists from one store got to know that there were like-minded colleagues from another store in their city, so they met and started cycling altogether. Participants started posting educational videos.
Four months later we resulted in 10000 users and constant activity. Therefore we realized it was high time to open the portal for external users and candidates.
External activity
In order to attract candidates, "My jobby" project started presenting lectures during certain professional events, publishing advertising articles in various media, and holding off-line workshops. Besides project communities were set up in social networks. Very soon numbers of users started following the communities. Thus the portal managed to attract audience which thanks to communication with employees got acquainted with the culture and internal life of the company and saw how M Video differs from other employers.
Development strateg
After the main project activities were fully launched and the portal started functioning properly it was time to concentrate on development strategy. The plan contained the following activities:

  • Hobby development grants: project participants can win a grant for their hobby development (education and training, competitions participation, equipment purchase). Once a month an employee receives a grant and afterwards tells other community members what they spent the money on.
  • Hobby development contest: at the starting point of the contest the participants should demonstrate their skills, and then in the final of the competition they should show how far they managed to improve. The contest will show how well one can succeed in their hobby in half a year's time.
  • On- and off-line stores tagging: we will develop M Video stores map showing the employees hobbies so that anyone could see where snowboarders or rockers work. Later the information about employees' hobbies could be shown right on the stores' doors.
Result
  • The project has established the hierarchy of participants taking an active (or not so active) part in its development and spreading the information about the brand.
  • Independent communities were set up within the site resulting in the organization of off-line activities.
  • Loyalty of workers participating in the project increased (Sure! They became faces of the company).
  • Candidates started distinguishing M Video thanks to its emotionality.
  • Attrition rate reduced by 5% in 4 months.
  • Job applications flow increased by 10%.

My jobby
Эмоциональное преимущество работодателя
Если коротко
Это флагманский брендинговый проект компании «М.Видео», посвященный хобби и увлечениям. Проект помог сотрудникам проявить себя, а компании выделиться из ряда конкурентов за счет эмоционального преимущества.
Бекграунд
Мы знали, что соискатели не видят разницы между 4 крупнейшими российскими ритейлерами электроники и бытовой техники: у них одинаковые условия труда, зарплаты и соцпакеты. Когда мы обстоятельно поговорили с сотрудниками «М.Видео», то выявили еще два важных инсайта:

  • они не общаются друг с другом ни на работе, ни после работы,
  • они хотят проявить себя (ведь они интересные и увлекающиеся личности, а не просто продавцы и менеджеры), но работа обычно не дает им такой возможности.
Задача
  • создать эмоциональное преимущество работодателя для соискателей,
  • cократить текучку кадров, увеличить поток присылаемых резюме.
Решение
Мы создали движение "My jobby", которое помогло сплотить команду и дало возможность самовыражения сотрудникам. "My jobby" — это социальная сеть, клуб по интересам, объeдинивший действующих работников и потенциальных соискателей. Это площадка, на которой обсуждают, демонстрируют хобби, учат, делятся советами и объединяются в группы по интересам. Проект поддерживает хобби сотрудников грантами, мероприятиями, учебными материалами.
Внутренняя активность
Для начала мы создали площадку проекта — сайт с простым рубрикатором, в котором легко найти свое хобби, прочитать рассказ коллег о нем, написать свой рассказ или поучаствовать в обсуждении. Чтобы вовлечь первых пользователей в проект, мы устроили конкурс рассказов о хобби среди всех сотрудников компании. Распространяли информацию через менеджеров магазинов: они рассказывали о конкурсе во время рабочих планерок и вешали в магазинах вот такие плакаты
Конкурс закончился, победители получили призы, а конкурсные работы стали первым контентом для новой площадки. Каждый автор, который размещал свой рассказ о хобби (в том числе и участники конкурса), автоматически получал звание модератора ветки о велоспорте (хоккее, икебане) и ответственную обязанность следить за своей веткой: отвечать на вопросы, помогать новичкам. Так на портале появилась первая активность: одни сотрудники писали и выкладывали видео и фотографии, другие комментировали и участвовали в обсуждениях, третьи просто читали.

Проект рос и развивался, на портале появились рассказ археолога, видео о том, как собирать кубик Рубика за минуту, и даже стихотворные публикации. Появились офлайн-группы и офлайн-активности: работники-велосипедисты из одного магазина узнали, что в их городе есть единомышленники из другого магазина, познакомились и стали кататься вместе. Участники начали выкладывать обучающие видео.
Через 4 месяца мы получили 10000 уникальных посетителей и постоянную активность участников. Тогда мы поняли, что пришло время открывать портал для внешних пользователей и потенциальных соискателей.
Внешняя активность
Чтобы привлечь потенциальных соискателей, проект "My jobby" начал проводить тематические лекции на профильных мероприятиях, публиковать рекламные статьи в прессе и проводить офлайн-мастер-классы. Кроме того, в соцсетях заработали группы проекта, которые очень скоро наполнились пользователями. Так на портале появилась аудитория, которая через общение с работниками стала знакомиться с культурой и внутренней жизнью компании, узнавать о том, чем отличается «М.Видео» от других работодателей.
Стратегия развития
Когда основные активности проекта были запущены и портал начал жить полноценной жизнью, пришло время заняться стратегией развития. В план вошли такие активности:
  • Гранты на развитие хобби: участники проекта могут защитить право на получение гранта на развитие (на обучение, участие в соревнованиях или покупку снаряжения). Раз в месяц один из сотрудников получает деньги, а потом рассказывает другим членам сообщества, на что их потратил.
  • Конкурс «Развитие в хобби»: участники должны показать, что они умеют делать в своем хобби в момент запуска конкурса, а в конце — как они улучшили свои умения к финалу. Интересно, как можно «прокачаться» за полгода.
  • Тегирование магазинов на карте и в офлайне: мы создадим карту магазинов «М.Видео» с привязкой к хобби их сотрудников — каждый сможет увидеть, где работают сноубордисты, а где рокеры. Позже информацию о хобби сотрудников можно размещать прямо на дверях магазинов.
Результат
  • Проект сформировал иерархию участников, активно и не очень участвующих в его жизни и распространяющих информацию о бренде.
  • На портале появились самообразующиеся группы, они начали переносить свою деятельность в офлайн.
  • Лояльность сотрудников, вовлеченных в проект, выросла (еще бы, они ведь стали лицами компании).
  • Соискатели начали выделять «М.Видео» из ряда конкурентов по эмоциональному признаку.
  • Текучка сократилась на 5% за 4 месяца.
  • Поток резюме увеличился на 10%